FCA Awards


The FCA has awards to recognize contributions of individuals and/or groups in three categories, Lifetime Achievement,  Contribution to the FCA and Builders. When warranted, these are typically presented at the Annual General Meeting held in June of every year. Nominations for the 2017 awards must be submitted by May 15.

LIFE TIME ACHIEVEMENT: outstanding voluntary contribution to improving the quality of life of the fellow citizens, not only at the neighbourhood and/or ward level, but may be at the city and/or provincial/national level. They have been an inspiration to others, steadfastly engaging others to participate in civic life. Their Association is/has been a member. Duration and scope of commitment, as well as their impact distinguishes one nominee over another. Previous year nominations are considered.
FCA AWARD: outstanding voluntary contribution to the mission/activities of the FCA. Their Association is a member at the time of the nomination Duration and scope of commitment, as well as their impact distinguishes one nominee over another. May be an individual or a member association. Previous year nominations are considered.
BUILDERS AWARD: Outstanding contribution to improving the quality of life of the city’s citizens and/or advancing the aims of the Federation while not being eligible for membership in the Federation. . Duration, scope of commitment, involvement with affected neighborhood(s as well as demonstrated impact distinguishes one nominee over another. May be an individual, group or organization. Previous year nominations are considered.

Our first FCA award was given in 2012 to Elspeth Menendez as part of
our commemoration of FCA’s 25th anniversary. The award was titled
“Outstanding Community Service”. Elspeth, who now lives in Perth, was
one of the presidents of the organization back in the 1970’s prior to
it going dormant for 7 years before being reconstituted in 1986/7.

The following year we instituted three awards to be presented at our
AGM every year going forward: Life Time Achievement; FCA Award; and
Community Builder Award.

2013 Winners

Lifetime Achievement – Cam Robertson
FCA Builder – Robert Brocklebank
Community Builder – CCOC for the Beaverbrook Barracks Project

2014 Winners

Lifetime Achievement – Amy Kempster
FCA Builder – Faith Blacquiere
Community Builder – Bill Teron

2015 Winners

Lifetime Achievement – Linda Hoad
FCA Builder – Gary Sealey
Community Builder – Diane Holmes

2016 Winners

Life Time Achievement: Liz Bernstein
FCA Builder: Heather Pearl
Community Builder: Don Schultz

An additional award is planned for 2018:
Excellence in Media Award for in-depth reporting on municipal/neighbourhood issues.
The Award consists of a citation on our website, and presentation of a monetary prize donated to a local charity of the winner’s choice.
To be eligible for the Award, a nominee must have produced an publication in a media form in the prior calendar year that:

  • covered a municipal issue(s related to such matters as built heritage, economic development, environment, neighbourhood/community services, planning, protective services, rural affairs or transportation focused on greater Ottawa or on wards thereof;
  • references the viewpoints of local citizens or spokespersons;
  • references practices in other Canadian municipalities, or;
  • references North American research

Nominations for the award will include a copy of the published article. This new award is announced in 2017 and will be first awarded in 2018. Nominations must be received by March 1, 2018.